The battles at sea.

Bane

I don't expect anything to be overkill, either. If someone blocks my harbor and I have an exotic good there, I lose it while the blockage is underway. Something like that . Nothing too much I would even say change, that's why I've been playing this game for 15 years. they also have in KOH1 battles at sea if the ships meet.

• 7 months later...

There are a few ways to make ships a thing, and they have pros and cons. Ill go over some just for thought.

1. Many different types of battle ships, and transports need to be made as well in order to transport units.

2. One type of battle ships and 1 type of transport.

3. One type of battle ship, no transports are needed, but units must transport over battle ships.

4. One type of battle ship, no transports needed, units make their own ships when going to sea. 

5. No battle ships, units make their own ships when going to sea which can act as battle ships and transport. 

Personally I think 1 battle ship type and using them as transports makes sense (3.) . That way the navy allows movement of armies, but also sieging and raiding when not moving armies.

As a side point I dont think it makes sense in games when you need to build a transport type ship to move units... Like come on, people would just used w.e ships they had (war, commerce, transport,) to move armies in the past. 

Exactly, sea battles were so underutilized in the original game because there just wasn’t a real reason for them. They were lackluster, unfortunately. Although I did find myself in the original game sending out my stronger marshals in ships sometimes to intercept and (auto) battle an enemy ship en route to my territory.

I do feel though if war ships were given more prominence in the new game to blockade or shore bombard, etc., I’d definitely use that pretty regularly, in tandem with my land forces. 

1 hour ago, TemplarKnight633 said:

blockade or shore bombard,